Dress Up

Dress: J.Crew  /  Jacket:  Old Navy  /  Shoes: Audrey Brooke via DSW  /  Clutch: J.Crew  / Jewelry:  Stella and Dot chain necklace, Stella and dot pendant, Express pearls (old)

I definitely needed to steam this little number, but I was so excited to get this baby on!  Ever since I saw this in the J.Crew spring/summer preview, I was eying it.  Then once I put it on, my hubby told me it looked like a grandma dress.  I have to admit, I did feel a little Olsen twin-ish once I put on the dress.  Now that I look at this pic, I resemble my five year-old self dressing up in my mother’s clothes.  So yeah, it’s fair to say I’m channeling a Olsen or two.  But  the color is so gorgeous,  and although I have other pink dresses, nothing this exact shade.  Decisions, Decisions.  What do you think, should I keep it or let it go so a Olsen can scoop it up?

P.S.  That’s my new favorite clutch!

28 thoughts on “Dress Up

  1. Love love love that clutch, feeling a copy cat urge!! Dress is a beauty, a little large but it’s all about how you feel in it! Especially since you always look so cute.

  2. Hi i just found your blog through jewcrewimyfavoritestore.
    i agree the dress looks a little big,but i love it.i saw it reviewed on mysuperfluities too.
    If you feel good in it,keep it.

    ina-wonderland.blogspot.com

    • Hi! So glad you found me and thanks for stopping by:) I just checked out mysuperfluitties version and I think it fits her better. It’s a little shorter and the top is more fitted. Thank you for sharing her post with me! xoxo

  3. I actually love the dress on you — I think the pearls might be what’s aging the outfit on you. JMO though!

    • Mmmmm, frosting!!! I love it, lol. Thanks little peanut:) You can definitely borrow the shoes. They are a tad big (is there a theme with today’s outfit), so I think they will fit you perfect! xoxo

  4. I have always loved this dress and think it looks really pretty on you! 🙂 I agree with Elaine that the pearls are perhaps a bit too aging for the dress, but I love the handbag with it. Have you tried dressing it down with a pair of sandals? Perhaps that would also help make it feel less ‘grandma-ish’? Either way, I definitely don’t think it looks to much like the Olsen twins. I say keep it! 🙂

    • I think you two are on to something with the pearls aging the dress:) I think that’s why I thought it looked like I was playing dress up! I will try some new jewels and some sandals too, great ideas ladies. Thank you and thank you so much for stopping by! xxoo

  5. I have been eyeing this dress, but worried it might be too matronly as well! I think you look beautiful in it and the color really suits you. Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving comments…I feel like you’re a friend and a fellow blogger :).

    • You should definitely get this dress (it’s 40%off now). I think it would look even better on you, I think you are taller than me & that helps:) Thank you so much for the kind words & I definitely feel the same way! I am very grateful for all the positivity received and to be given:)

  6. I adore the color on you. The dress is too big, though. Too blousy in the top and too long. I would wait for something else in the same electric color. You’ll find it. $.02

    • Thanks Gigi. I have to agree with you. After putting the dress on and having another look, I noticed you could see my bra from the armholes on the side, never cute. And it is too long. Think I will save my dough for something else. Consider your $.02 valued!

  7. From one small-ish J Crew lover to another, I understand where you’re coming from with this dress. I tried it on, and I think it would work better – at least for me – if it were shorter and a bit more fitted. However, I love the way you styled it: the leopard/camo combination adds a little edge to the feminine pink and pearls.

    • Thanks girl! I totally agree with you. Wonder if they had much success with this dress, it was priced pretty high IMO too. There is only so much styling can do, I’m returning it especially after a sneak peak at fall’s arrivals:)

Leave a Reply

