Lemon Zest

Top: Ann Taylor  /  Shorts: J.Crew  /  Shoes:  Webster for Target  /  Clutch:  J.Crew  /  Jewelry:  Stella and Dot bracelet, Banana Republic bangles

Yes, I do own an ironing board, I’ve just never seen it.  I’m aware these shorts need to be ironed, but I abhor ironing.  My mom irons everything, even her pillow cases.  Consider this me “rebelling” for all those years I lived her and she wanted me to iron my pajamas.  Who the hell cares if I have wrinkles while I’m sleeping???  The tooth fairy?  Keep your 50 cents (that’s what I got when I was little), you cheap, judgmental fairy!  I actually have a steamer; that I’m ok with, but I was just being lazy here.  I got these cheerful shorts on super sale.  The color was described as “lemon zest”  and zest is right!  Of course I had to pair them with some patterns, toned down patterns that is.

TIP:  Never be pressured by anyone to iron if you don’t want to.  Not your mom, not the tooth fairy, not your dog.  Just know, some people might laugh at you.  But then there is Karma, and they will step in gum.

24 thoughts on “Lemon Zest

  1. Sounds just like my mum, she irons socks! I iron maybe once year, I hold things up in front of the kettle a lot, however and must look for a steamer whilst I still have flesh on my hands.

    • LOL! I didn’t think anyone could top ironing pillow cases, but socks??? Maybe our mums should get together and have a full on ironing-hay-day! You should definitely invest in a steamer, save those pretty hands of yours Tabitha.

      • Ha, I won’t say who but one of my relatives through marriage irons sheets and combs the fringes on rugs. And Tabs, I am about to do a post maybe right after I get back from my biz trip on a handy little steamer I cannot live without …

      • What!!! Combs rugs??? That’s OCD allstar right there. Next time my hubs calls out my cleanliness disorder I will be sure to remind him that at least I don’t comb the rugs:)

    • So glad I’m not alone:) Hate it when you travel too and all they have are those flimsy ironing boards and cheap irons. I try to avoid them by hanging my clothes in the bathroom while I shower. A Jerry-rigged steam process at it’s finest. How lazy am I?

    • Ha! Yours too? Does she also comment on your terrible handwriting/signature? Mine does that to me all the time. It’s not even that bad, well, i don’t think so….Moms, you gotta love ’em. Thanks for the comment and likes sweets:) xo

    • Seriously! At this point in our society, at least I have clothes on, clothes that I put some effort into. Thank you so much for all your compliments (keep them coming) and support! So glad you take time to read my blog:) I heart and adore you & your blog right back!

  2. You’re as cute as a button in that outfit! I own an ironing board too but I haven’t seen it in years. If steamer doesn’t take care of it, oh well. I have the same clutch, love it.

  3. love the ironing tip – I’ve always been self conscious about my wrinkly clothing(not enough to do anything about it, but still) and i don’t think most people care – thanks for the reassurance!

  4. Love these shorts! I ordered the same ones from J.Crew.com in the 4 inch length ($29.99, yes please). I hope mine look as cute on me and yours do you!!! Keep up the cute outfit work!

    • Thank you soooo much for your support Marcia! I can’t tell you how appreciative I am, well I guess I kind of just did:) I’m sure you will look fantastic in your shorts. Don’t you just love getting a good deal on staple pieces, like those shorts? Winning! xoxo

Leave a Reply

