Look-A-Like

Jacket: J.Crew (similar here)  /  Top: J.Crew (similar here)  /  Skirt: H&M  /  Shoes:  Fergalicious via Macy’s (similar here)  /  Jewelry:  Nixon watch, Stella & Dot bracelet, Banana Republic bangles (similar here)

If anyone finds a money tree, please let me know!  I really wanted the J. Crew collection photo floral skirt, see it here, but it is way out of my price range at a whopping $600!  In fact a lot of items from their fall collection were out of my price range forcing me to look elsewhere for less expensive doppelgängers of the real items I wanted (first world problems, I know).  Has anyone else notice this upwards price movement at J.Crew?  They have always been on the pricier side and I know I’ve read articles relaying that they were trying to move toward “collection” type pieces, but I guess I just didn’t want to believe it.  I’m starting to feel like I’m being shoved out as a customer there.  More power to you if you can afford the collection wear, but I am an avid bargain shopper.  I liked buying the “mistakes,” as Mickey Drexler would like to call the sale items, but even those are getting pricier and pricier.  It’s a good thing stores like H&M are there to pick up the pieces!  Is J.Crew leaving the “little guys” in the dust and moving on to the high-end customers?  Do you feel abandoned?

P.S.  Thanks for letting me rant and rave today and for stopping by!

32 thoughts on “Look-A-Like

  1. Love your skirt!
    I wasn’t so sure this trend would work for me when it first appeared but over the past 3 months I have really seen some cute floral pencil skirts. So much so that I recently purchased one from ASOS that I plan to wear to one of the runway shoes next week. I would find it really hard to justify $600 on a skirt! Especially one that is likely to be wearable for a couple of seasons and then be out of style.
    Cheers,
    Laura

    • Can’t wait to see your purchase from ASOS Laura! I agree with you. The floral trend probably won’t last forever, especially the photo prints, so I will put my 600 dollars toward my mortgage payment. That’s probably a wiser investment:) xo

      • LOL!
        Yes, I have a feeling your home is likely to last longer than a trendy skirt! Although I have a fabulous coat that I have had longer than my first husband 😉
        Cheers,
        Laura

  2. Love how you paired edgy booties with ruffles and flowers; the contrast is everything! As I’m severely allergic to paying full price for most things, I primarily shop JC’s sale section (I was surprised to hear Drexler refer to them as “mistakes,” but whatev). Hopefully, they will continue to include varied price points. Side note: Hubby and I passed a J Crew Collection store near our hotel when we were in NYC, and he said, “There’s J Crew. Want to go in there?” He had no idea!

    • Ha! I know, I break out in hives when I have to pay full price. I’m strictly a sale shopper only. According to Mr. Drexler, I have a closet full of mistakes! I think that is funny:) Your hubs sounds so sweet, what a gem. You should have let him taken you in there and snapped a pic of his face when he went into sticker shock mode!

    • LOL! Let’s keep the abbreviation’s going, shall we? Well, I guess I’m SOL and need to start shopping at JCF only. Or not shop at all, that would be the best alternative. yeah, right, that will happen!

  3. I’m with Sarah – I’ve been loving J.Crew factory lately, too! I think their professor blazer actually fits better than the wool schoolboy blazers. I bought a factory suit recently too and was pleasantly surprised. It’s not as thick as the Super 120s suiting but the fit is great and it’s a nice suit for summery weather.

    • I’m so glad you mentioned the professor blazer from factory. I was wondering about the quality of the two blazers, so I will definitely be buying the factory version! I just wish they offered petite and tall sizes at their factory store, but that’s probably asking too much:) Thanks for the comment! xo

  4. The only thing I think spending $600 on are shoes because you literally will have them forever! Wtf Jcrew? But to be honest I think this H&M one is cuter! It has more color, a perfect length, and can be matched with almost everything. Loving the blouse you paired it with. Where do you live btw?

    xo

  5. Are any of you teachers? If so you get a discount! Also…student ID cards get you a discount! 20% off for teachers and 15% off for students at the crew from what I last remember when I worked there. And sometimes…if you find a flaw in something you can ask them if they’ll give you more of a discount on an item, for example a scuff mark on a shoe. And trust me I feel the pain of J.Crew being way too pricey, after having worked there…it’s just not worth paying full price.

  6. What i don’t get about J.Crew’s Collection items is that if they are supposed to more exclusive and special than regular JC items, why do they do Factory versions of them later on? Granted the materials aren’t the same but doesn’t that take away from the specialness?

    Sorry, ranting because I’ve also noticed the upward pricing of JC’s items this fall – and as much as I adore it, I am not spending $350 on a neon blazer! ;o)

    • Amen to that sister! I couldn’t agree with you more. I’m glad I’m not the only who has noticed their upward pricing this fall. I’d like to see where this is headed. I wonder if these high price points are due to the fact that things usually head straight for sale and they want to make a higher profit margin on sale items??? Tricky, tricky JC…

    • Yes, the factory being open 24/7 is a major plus. I think that is where they are headed with their old price points and their normal store is going to be couture/high end mostly. Thanks for the comments:) muah!

  7. I sure hope not, J.Crew besides Banana Republic are about the only stores besides department stores like Nordstroms Van Maur etc., that have acceptable quality. I very much dislike purchasing something not of quality material. You know like when you go to wash it, you know it won’t look the same.

  8. Gosh, I really hope not, J.Crew’s quality is reasonable compared to other stores in the mall besides Banana Republic and department stores i.e., Nordstroms, Van Muer. I hate purchasing anything that is not quality acceptable.

    • I know what you mean. But their price points are getting astronomical. And I hate to say it, but in some items I have seen a decline in quality. Maybe they will work themselves out as a company, I hope;)

  9. Giiiirl, even if I went gambling and won a little extra money, I would not spend $600 on a skirt! I could never justify the purchase. Now, if I won mega millions that is a different story. 🙂 But it’s always great when you find something similar (or better) and it is a steal! Good job!

    • I know, right? What the hell is going on with their price points??? I saw a top on their website for something crazy, like 1200!!! My mouth fell to the floor. Even mega millions couldn’t get me to buy that top. Finding steals it is:) Thanks for the love, xo

Leave a Reply

