DIY Distressed Denim

IMG_6685

IMG_6733

IMG_6738

IMG_6713

Jacket: Old Navy (similar here)   /  Shirt:  J.Crew (similar here)  /  Jeans:  J.Crew (similar here)  /  Shoes: Ralph Lauren (similar here)  /  Bag: J.Crew  /  Sunnies: Anthropologie (similar here)

Welcome back to the 90’s, friends!  Distressed denim has made a serious comeback and my inner grunge groupie is loving it.  I cannot get enough pairs of jeans with holes in them.  I have had this pair of J.Crew ankle jeans (long on my short frame, go figure) for a while, so I thought I would try out a little DIY project and make my own distressed denim.  To the tool shed I went for some scissors,  cardboard cutters and sandpaper.  Cut to (literally) a lot of blue jean shrapnel and a few moments later, I had a thrifty pair of rugged jeans, perfectly tailored to my height!  No alterations needed.  Are you as into this trend as I am?

TIP:  If you try this at home, make sure you have washed your jeans first (shrinkage is a bitch).  Also, when cutting holes in knees, BEND your knee first and THEN mark where you want to cut.  Not while standing, unless you just want a hole above your knee when you sit.  Have fun, be creative!

11 thoughts on “DIY Distressed Denim

  1. I really need to try this because I can’t find distressed denim that I like. I thought I found some at American Eagle but there was one hole that was literally so high up on the leg that you could see my underwear. I’m too old for that shit.

    ~Sarah of the New and Improved Sarah’s Real Life

  2. Cute fit and congrats on your DIY! I haven’t done it in awhile, but I’ve been distressing denim for a long time thanks to my mom who taught me how to do it when I was a kid. I want to do it to my denim vest but I’m scared. Scared? When did I lose my nerve? 🙂

  3. That brings me back to when I was a kid and we all used to naturally “distress” our jeans but wearing them so often and playing so roughly in them. Who knew we were all trendsetters back in the day!

  4. I’ve been meaning to comment ever since your Chunky Knits post. I hope things get brighter for you each day. Good lemonade! I’m rooting for ya.

    The thing I don’t like about already distressed jeans is not having the distressing match up to where they should naturally distress. DIY would fix that.

    Nice outfit to be out on a beautiful day with your pooch!

Leave a Reply

