OBSESSION: Les Macarons

Photo credits Louis Beche

So, apparently I have never really lived until this past weekend.  For those of you following me on Instagram, you might know what I’m talking about.  Over the holiday weekend, my life long dream of meeting Eddie Vedder came true AND I tasted a macaron (not to be confused with macaroon, see here) for the first time!  I know, right?  What the hell have I been doing for the last 30 years up until now?  Well, now that I have tasted this delicious, sweet pastry I am officially obsessed.  And I hear that Laduree are the mac daddy of macarons, so naturally I would like to fly to Paris or NYC just to try one.  That sounds reasonable, right?

25 thoughts on “OBSESSION: Les Macarons

  1. Was at Alon’s bakery near Perimeter Mall & saw a treat that looked identical to these in all kinds of colors/flavors! Didn’t know what they were called but guess they are macarons! Judy FYI if you need a fix closer to home 🙂

      • In the class they tell you all the little secrets that the recipes never tell you. Like that your eggs need to be aged…which means don’t use farm fresh eggs and once you separate the whites let them sit covered for a couple of days on a counter top not the in the fridge. After all the secrets are shared they aren’t that tough. 🙂
        Cheers from your fellow macaron lover!
        Laura

Leave a comment