Pocket Watch

Cardigan: J.Crew  /  Top: J.Crew  /  Pants: Gap  /  Shoes: Zara  /  Bag: B.Makoswsky (similar here and here)  /  Jewelry: Vintage Pocket Watch (similar here), Solomon Brothers ball necklace

This outfit means a little more to me than others.  Yeah, I covered my bases with the animal print, the printed pant, and fall’s “it” color, burgundy.  It also helps that my ensemble is quite comfortable.  But none of these really mean anything.  By far the most precious item today is the pocket watch I inherited from my Grandfather.  I’ve meant to incorporate this antique gem into the blog for sometime, either in its given form or as a necklace, but have not done so until my friend Lindsay came over and gave me the final push (thanks peanut).

This keepsake was given to him as a retirement gift from the company he worked for until he was 65 years old.  He was captured and taken as a prisoner of war on Wake Island while working for this company.  The back of the watch is inscribed with his name, his position within the company and the time spent as a POW on Wake Island.  When I was little, he would tell me stories about being held captive, I remember one touching story in particular about how all the men received one sheet of paper to write a letter home, but one of the guards knew my grandfather wanted to write a letter to his parents and my grandmother (his girlfriend at the time), so the guard would sneak him two sheets of paper.  It seems like it might be insignificant, but I remember that one gesture being very pivotal.  It’s not really the material possession that matters as much as what it stands for.  Kindness goes a long way, generations even.  Thank you for reading today and I hope my good intentions are well received:)

P.S. Have a wonderful day!

35 thoughts on “Pocket Watch

  1. Love the story and the watch!
    Perfect mix of leopard,plaid and burgundy! I am on the hunt for pants like that too(maybe the cafe capris in herringbone) or something similiar.

    • Thank you friend. He was a POW for four years, pretty incredible. I can’t imagine either. I’m so thankful he was in my life and that I have this and a few other keepsakes to remember him by. I really appreciate your support:) xo

  2. You’ve got a lot going on with your outfit and it all works together nicely for a great look.

    That pocket watch is the best, I love the story behind it. Thanks for sharing with us.

Leave a comment